

Two Martin Luther King Jr. Drive West Tower, Suite 702 Atlanta, Georgia 30334

DIRECTIVE 22-EX-3

TO: ALL NON-ADMITTED INSURERS WRITING IN THE STATE OF GEORGIA
FROM: JOHN F. KING INSURANCE AND SAFETY FIRE COMMISSIONER
DATE: MARCH 31, 2021

RE: FINE FOR OPERATING WITHOUT A LICENSE

It has come to the attention of the Commissioner that certain unlicensed persons and entities are selling, soliciting, or negotiating insurance in Georgia prior to gaining an insurance license in this state. After executing or selling these policies, the entity or person then seeks and obtains licensure in this state. Pursuant to O.C.G.A. §33-23-4(a)(1) a person shall not sell, solicit, or negotiate insurance in this state for any class or classes of insurance unless such person is licensed for that line of authority in accordance with this article and applicable regulations.

Beginning July 1, 2022, the Office of Commissioner of Insurance and Safety Fire will implement a tiered fine schedule for any person or entity selling, soliciting, or negotiating insurance in Georgia without a license or charter (for Risk Retention Groups). Below is a schedule of the fines that will be assessed for not following this code.

	Fine Amount
1st Policy	\$100.00
2nd Policy	\$500.00
3rd Policy	\$1,000.00
4th Policy	\$1,500.00
5th Policy	\$2,000.00
6th Policy and Up	\$5,000.00 each

If you have any questions, please contact the Premium Tax Division at (404) 656-7553 or via email at premiumtax@oci.ga.gov.

JOHN F. KING INSURANCE AND SAFETY FIRE COMMISSIONER STATE OF GEORGIA