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(1) On or before July 1 of the year of the approval of the appropriation specified in O.C.G.A. §
33-1-17, the Commissioner shall assess each foreign, alien and domestic insurance company
doing business in Georgia on the following basis:

(a) Each insurer whose Georgia written premium is less than $1,000,000.00, including
those insurers whose Georgia written premium is zero or less than zero, will each be
assessed a fixed amount not more than the minimum amount assessed an insurer with
Georgia written premium of $1,000,000.00 or greater;

(b) Each insurer whose Georgia written premium is $40,000,000.00 or greater but less
than $100,000,000.00, an assessment equal to .0035 times the appropriated amount;

(c) Each insurer whose Georgia written premium is $100,000,000.00 or greater but less
than $500,000,000.00, an assessment equal to .0045 times the appropriated amount;

(d) Each captive insurer - other than the following domestic captive insurance companies:
an agency captive insurance company, dormant captive insurance company, industrial
insured captive insurance company, sponsored captive insurance company (including a
protected cell thereof), or pure captive insurance company - shall be assessed a fixed
amount of $100.00, without regard to the amount of premium written;

(e) Each insurer whose Georgia written premium is $500,000,000.00 or greater but less
than $1,000,000,000.00, an assessment equal to .0055 times the appropriated amount;

(f) Each insurer whose Georgia written premium is $1,000,000,000.00 or greater, an
assessment equal to .0065 times the appropriated amount;

(9) Regarding each insurer not included in (a) through (f) herein, an assessment shall be
computed on a pro-rata basis of the remainder of the appropriation for each insurer whose
Georgia written premium is $1,000,000.00 or greater but less than $40,000,000.00.

(2) Written premium is premiums written in GEORGIA ONLY, including annuity considerations
and is determined prior to reinsurance transactions. Written premium is determined from the
most recent annual statement on file with the Commissioner at the time the assessment
calculations are made.



(3) Assessments based on the annual appropriation shall be due on September 1 of the year of the
assessment.

(4) In the event of a supplemental appropriation, the assessment will be made as soon as
practicable after approval of the appropriation, and will be due thirty (30) days after assessment.

(5) Any assessment levied pursuant to this Regulation Chapter which is not remitted to the
Georgia Insurance Department on or before the due date shall be deemed delinquent and subject
to a penalty of 10% of the amount owed, together with interest on the principal at the rate of 1%
per month, or any part of a month, from the date due until the date paid. Such penalty and
interest, if any, shall be transmitted by the Commissioner to the State Treasury and shall not act
to increase the funds available for the purposes described in O.C.G.A. § 33-1-17.

(6) When the dates prescribed by this regulation fall on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday the
date shall be postponed until the first day following which is not a Saturday, Sunday or legal
holiday.

Authority: O.C.G.A. 88 33-1-17, 33-2-9
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