

# OFFICE OF INSURANCE AND SAFETY FIRE COMMISSIONER

JIM BECK COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE SAFETY FIRE COMMISSIONER INDUSTRIAL LOAN COMMISSIONER SEVENTH FLOOR, WEST TOWER FLOYD BUILDING 2 MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR. DRIVE ATLANTA, GA 30334 (404) 656-2056 www.oci.ga.gov

# Thursday, April 4, 2019

# **Elevator Advisory Board Summary**

Prior to the meeting being called into order, announcement of new bylaws was made by Ben Crawford, SFMO. Announcement of retirement of board members was also made.

Meeting was called to order by Vice-Chair Scott Russell (acting Chair in Chairman's absence) at 9:10 AM.

### **Advisory Board Members Present:**

Bobby Batchelor, GA Elevator

Ken Donner, Van Deusen & Associates

Mark Gallman, Highwood Properties (BOMA Representative)

Michael Graff, American Elevator of Atlanta, Inc

Julie Hale, Emory University

Jake Jakobson, Custom Industrial Products, Inc

Nathan Quarles, Schindler Elevator Corporation

Scott Russell (Vice Chair), IEUC Local 32

Stewart Smith, Genesis Elevator Co.

Gary Thomas, Albany Elevator Service

### **Advisory Board Members Absent:**

Kevin O'Shea, Director of Safety and Training

Phillip Reid, Premier Elevator Co, Inc

Carl Merritt, MARTA

### SFM Office Staff

Ben Crawford

Curtis Jenkins

Butch Lynch

Farzeen Huq

#### **Guests in Attendance:**

Kenji Tillman, AIA/LPBC

Charlotte Williams, Oracle Elevator (ATL)

John Gillespie, Southern Inspection Group

Jason Gray, IEUC

Robert Barber, Premier Elevator

Neal Funez, Bigge Crane & Rigging

Chris Bannister, Bigge Crane & Rigging

Motion was made by Scott Russell to read the bylaws from Ben Crawford. Motion seconded Nathan Quarles. Voting in the affirmative: Bobby Batchelor, Ken Donner, Mark Gallman, Michael Graff, Jake Jakobson, Nathan Quarles, Scott Russell, Stewart Smith and Gary Thomas. Motion carried. Julie Hale arrived directly after this vote.

Absent from voting was Philip Reid and Kevin O'Shea.

Ben Crawford mentioned new membership requirements, including the procedure to vote for a new chairman. Also, the summary of the meeting would be available online no later than Tuesday morning, April 9<sup>th</sup>, 2019. The minutes of the meeting would be available online by the end of April or beginning of May, 2019.

Certificates of appreciation were distributed to the retiring board members present at the meeting: Julie Hale, and Greg Thomas. Additional certificates were mailed or otherwise distributed to Phil Reid and Kevin O'Shea.

The rollcall and introduction for those in attendance was conducted.

Scott Russell started the discussion on the lack of minutes for the three previous advisory board meetings. They were the two regular advisory board meetings for 2017 and 2018 and one special call meeting in 2017. Sustained discussion ensued on FOIA requests made to OIC about the lack of minutes. Engaged in this conversation was SFMO staff Ben Crawford and Curtis Jenkins, board member Scott Russell and one guest in attendance, Jason Gray.

After review of email exchange between Ben Crawford, SFMO and Jason Gray, IEUC, that summarized the last three meetings, referenced above. A motion was made to accept the information contained within that email exchange to be the summary for those meetings. Bobby Batchelor made the motion, was seconded by Gary Thomas.

Voting in the affirmative: Jake Jakobson, Stewart Smith, Julie Hale, Ken Donner, Mark Gallman, Bobby Batchelor, Nathan Quarles, Gary Thomas and Michael Graff.

Voting against: Scott Russell.

Absent from voting was Philip Reid and Kevin O'Shea.

Motion carried.

Curtis Jenkins covered a review of new codes and standards. These code changes were approved at a previous board meeting.

Curtis Jenkins covered new regulatory changes.

A motion was made by Stewart Smith and seconded by Nathan Quarles to clarify Section 120-3-25-.13(e) to separate reinspection fees for installation and routine inspections.

Voting in the affirmative: Bobby Batchelor, Ken Donner, Mark Gallman, Michael Graff, Jake Jakobson, Nathan Quarles, Scott Russell, Stewart Smith, Gary Thomas and Julie Hale.

Absent from voting was Philip Reid and Kevin O'Shea.

A motion was made by Scott Russell and seconded by Ken Donner to clarify Section 120-3-25-.13(g) to separate section on refunds for already issued permits.

Voting in the affirmative: Bobby Batchelor, Ken Donner, Mark Gallman, Michael Graff, Jake Jakobson, Nathan Quarles, Scott Russell, Stewart Smith, Gary Thomas and Julie Hale.

Absent from voting was Philip Reid and Kevin O'Shea.

A motion was made by Jake Jacobson and seconded by Bobby Batchelor to approve regulatory changes to 120-3-25-.13 Elevator and Escalator Rules and Regulations, with recommended changes.

Voting in the affirmative: Bobby Batchelor, Ken Donner, Mark Gallman, Michael Graff, Jake Jakobson, Nathan Quarles, Scott Russell, Stewart Smith, Gary Thomas and Julie Hale.

Absent from voting was Philip Reid and Kevin O'Shea.

Scott Russell wished to enter an additional agenda item to Old Business. This agenda item was discussion of ThyssenKrupp's Twin System currently installed in the state of Georgia. Julie Hale made the motion to add agenda item. Jake Jacobson seconded.

Voting in the affirmative: Julie Hale, Jake Jacobson, Nathan Quarles, Scott Russell and Michael Graff.

Voting to abstain: Stewart Smith, Mark Gallman, Ken Donner and Bobby Batchelor, and Gary Thomas.

Absent from voting was Philip Reid and Kevin O'Shea.

New Business began with discussion led by Curtis Jenkins about NFPA 70 (National Electrical Code 2017) adopted by DCA (GA Department of Community Affairs).

At 11:15 AM, the motion to adjourn the meeting was brought by Nathan Quarles and seconded by Stewart Smith.

Voting in the affirmative: Bobby Batchelor, Ken Donner, Mark Gallman, Michael Graff, Jake Jakobson, Nathan Quarles, Scott Russell, Stewart Smith, Gary Thomas and Julie Hale.

Absent from voting was Philip Reid and Kevin O'Shea.

Meeting adjourned.