

INSURANCE AND SAFETY FIRE COMMISSIONER

- State of Georgia -

NEWS RELEASE

John F. King

Commissioner of Insurance Safety Fire Commissioner Industrial Loan Commissioner Twitter: @GA_DOI Facebook: @GeorgiaDOI Instagram: @GeorgiaDOI

For Immediate Release August 14, 2019 Contact: Brandon Wright Office: 404-463-0729

GILMER COUNTY WOMAN SENTENCED TO 10 YEARS FOR ARSON

ATLANTA – Nora Patricia Richardson, 37, of Ellijay, Georgia was recently sentenced to ten years in prison with five to serve for setting a fire in Gilmer County on January 12, 2019.

"Richardson set the fire to a couch in her living room. Another individual was inside the home at the time the fire originated. Luckily, that individual was able to escape unharmed," said Safety Fire Commissioner John F. King. "However, Mrs. Richardson's blatant disregard for human safety should serve as a reminder; arson will not be tolerated and criminals found guilty of arson will be punished to the full extent of the law."

The fire that started and ended in the living room of the single-wide mobile home located at 67 Stephens Run in Ellijay, Georgia was extinguished before fire personnel arrived. Richardson was located a short time later. The home suffered minimal damage during the fire.

In April, Richardson was indicted by the Grand Jury in Gilmer County. Richardson was then found guilty on one count of Arson and one count of Criminal Damage to Property. An investigator with the Safety Fire Commissioner's Office assisted the Gilmer County Fire Department and the Gilmer County Sheriff's Office with this investigation.

Second Degree Arson is a felony punishable by a fine of no more than \$25,000 or by a prison term between one and ten years, or both. To report arson, call the Arson Hotline at 1-800-282-5804. Rewards are offered of up to \$10,000 for information that leads to the arrest and conviction of an arsonist. Calls are taken 24 hours a day and callers can choose to remain anonymous.

