Licensed Adjusters, Counselors & Surplus Lines Brokers

Contact Pearson VUE

Pearson VUE is your primary contact for all inquiries about Agents & Agency Licensing and Continuing Education.

For assistance, please call Pearson VUE at 800-274-8969. 

Resources

 

 

Bond Information and Forms for Public Adjusters, Counselors and Surplus Lines Brokers

  • Bond Amounts Required:
    • Public Adjuster - $5,000
    • Counselors - Insurance -  $5,000
    • Surplus Lines Brokers - $50,000
  • What is required of the bonds?
    • Bonds shall be in favor of the Commissioner and shall be contingent upon:
      • Proper accounting for any monies
      • Proper reporting to any principal
      • Payment to the Commissioner of any fees or administrative fines
      • Must be continuous in nature
  • Release of any bond shall be contingent upon:
    • Expiration of five years following the termination of the license requiring such bond; or
    • Replacement of the bond by another bond which covers any unreported acts or claims occurring during the term of the bond being replaced.
  • Failure to maintain the required bond will result in the cancellation of the license.
  • Following are the forms for each required bond: 

Frequently Asked Questions

Licensed Adjusters FAQs

  • How do I change my address, change my name, or request a duplicate license?

    To request a change to your address, request a duplicate license or check the status of your license and more login to Sircon.

    To request a name change, complete the Name Change form and send with payment to the address provided on the form. 

    ExpandCollapse
  • How do I obtain a certification/status letter?

    You can request electronically via Sircon.

    ExpandCollapse
  • How do I obtain a clearance letter?

    Complete the form Request for Clearance Letter. The associated fee is $10 per letter plus a $5 processing fee.

    ExpandCollapse
  • How can I register to become a crop hail adjuster in Georgia?

    You will need to achieve a passing score on the Crop Hail Adjuster examination. Information regarding examination procedures is available on our website.

    You can apply electronically via NIPR or Sircon.

    Pay the $120 fee.

    A waiver of examination can be granted if the applicant holds CPCU designation. You must attach a copy of CPCU designation to the application.

    A waiver of examination can be granted if the applicant was previously licensed for same lines in his or her prior home state. The license in that state must be active at the time of moving to Georgia, the applicant must attach the original clearance letter from his or her prior home state and must apply for licensure within 90 days of the date of the move to Georgia.

    ExpandCollapse
  • How can I apply for a license to become a nonresident adjuster in Georgia?

    You can apply electronically via NIPR or Sircon.

    Provide proof of home state licensure for the license type requested. Proof may be in the form of an original certification letter dated within 90 days from resident state or PDB printout.

    Pay the $120 fee.

    If you are from a state that does not have a license requirement, you may still be licensed in Georgia. However, you must take the Georgia Adjuster Examination to qualify.

    ExpandCollapse
  • How do I renew an existing adjuster license?

    Renewal notices are available to all eligible licensees 90 days prior to renewal date. Renewals can be filed electronically via Sircon.

    If you have renewal processing questions, please contact Pearson VUE at 800-274-8969.

    ExpandCollapse
  • How do I become a certified workers compensation professional?

    Complete the Certified Workers Compensation Professional Designation (CWCP). You must attach CWCP certificate to the license application.

    You can apply electronically via NIPR or Sircon.

    Pay the $120 fee.

    Waiver of Prelicensing course and examination can be granted if applicant holds CPCU designation. You must attach copy of CPCU designation to application.

    Waiver of Prelicensing course and examination can be granted if the applicant was previously licensed for same lines in prior home state. The license in that state must be active at the time of moving to Georgia, the applicant must attach the original clearance letter from his or her prior home state and must apply for licensure within 90 days of the date of the move to Georgia.

    ExpandCollapse
  • How do I request to add or remove a non-active status?

    Complete the Request to Add-Remove Non-Active Status form. The associated fee is $25 plus $5 processing fee.

    ExpandCollapse

Counselors FAQs

  • How do I change my address, change my name, or request a duplicate license?

    To request a change to your address, request a duplicate license, check the status of your license, and more, login to Sircon.

    To request a name change, complete the Name Change form and send with payment to the address provided on the form. 

    ExpandCollapse
  • How do I obtain a certification/status letter?

    You can request electronically via Sircon

    ExpandCollapse
  • How do I obtain a clearance letter?

    Complete the form Request for Clearance Letter. The associated fee is $10 per letter plus a $5 processing fee.

    ExpandCollapse
  • How do I become a life, accident, and sickness counselor?

    You must have experience in lines requested.

    You will need to achieve a passing score on counselor life, accident and sickness examination. Information regarding examination procedures is available on our website.

    You can apply electronically via NIPR or Sircon.

    Complete the $5,000 counselor bond. An Insurance Counselor Bond form is provided if needed. The bond must be uploaded when applying to NIPR or Sircon.

    Pay the $120 fee.

    Waiver of examination can be granted if the applicant holds CLU, CIC or FLMI designation. You must attach proof of CLU, CIC or FLMI designation to the application.

    Waiver of examination can be granted if the applicant was previously licensed for same lines in his or her prior home state. The license in that state must be active at the time of moving to Georgia. The applicant must attach original clearance letter from his or her prior home state and must apply for licensure within 90 days of the date of the move to Georgia.

    ExpandCollapse
  • How can I register to become a nonresident counselor in Georgia?

    You can apply electronically via NIPR or Sircon.

    Provide proof of home state licensure for the license type requested. Proof may be in the form of an original certification letter dated within 90 days from resident state or PDB printout.

    Pay the $120 fee.

    If you are from a state that does not have a license requirement, you may still be licensed in Georgia. However, you must take the Georgia Counselor Examination to qualify.

    ExpandCollapse
  • How do I become a property and casualty counselor?

    You must have experience in lines requested.

    You will need to achieve a passing score on counselor property and casualty examination. Information regarding examination procedures is available on our website.

    You can apply electronically via NIPR or Sircon.

    Complete the $5,000 counselor bond. An Insurance Counselor Bond form is provided if needed. The bond must be uploaded when applying to NIPR or Sircon.

    Pay the $120 fee.

    Waiver of examination can be granted if the applicant holds CLU, CIC or FLMI designation. You must attach proof of CLU, CIC or FLMI designation to the application.

    Waiver of examination can be granted if the applicant was previously licensed for same lines in his or her prior home state. The license in that state must be active at the time of moving to Georgia. The applicant must attach original clearance letter from his or her prior home state and must apply for licensure within 90 days of the date of the move to Georgia.

    ExpandCollapse
  • How do I renew an existing counselor license?

    Renewal notices are available to all eligible licensees 45 days prior to renewal date. Renewals can be filed electronically via Sircon.

    If you have renewal processing questions, please contact Pearson VUE at 800-274-8969.

    ExpandCollapse

Surplus Lines Brokers FAQs

  • How can I register to become a nonresident surplus lines broker in Georgia?

    You can apply electronically via NIPR or Sircon.

    Provide an original certification letter dated within 90 days from resident state.

    Pay the $615 fee.

    ExpandCollapse
  • How can I become a resident surplus lines broker?

    You must also hold or apply for a property and casualty agent license.

    You must achieve a passing score on Surplus Lines Broker examination. For information regarding examination procedures, visit the Pearson VUE website.

    You can apply via NIPR or Sircon.

    Complete a $50,000 surplus lines broker bond. A Surplus Lines Broker's Bond form is provided if needed. The bond must be uploaded when applying to NIPR or Sircon.

    Pay the $615 fee.

    Waiver of examination can be granted if the applicant holds CPCU designation. You must attach proof of CPCU designation to the application.

    Waiver of examination can be granted if the applicant was previously licensed for same lines in his or her prior home state. The license in that state must be active at the time of moving to Georgia, the applicant must attach original clearance letter from his or her prior home state and must apply for licensure within 90 days of the date of the move to Georgia.

    ExpandCollapse