Pearson VUE Education Team
Pearson VUE Education Team
As a resident licensee in Georgia, you’re required to complete a certain number of continuing education (CE) requirements every other year (biennially), on or before the last day of your birth month. These requirements vary depending on your type of license and years of experience. Below you’ll find a list of CE requirements based on license type as well as information about carry over credits, waivers, reductions, and restrictions and guidelines on continuing education.
Annuity Best Interest Requirements
Rule 120-2-94 - Suitability in Annuity Transactions becomes effective on August 1, 2023.
- Producers licensed prior to August 1, 2023, who engage in the sale of annuity products in Georgia must complete the one time, 1-hour best interest standards course - Annuity Best Interest 1. This 1-hour course will not be available after January 31, 2024. The 4-hour course will be required after that date.
- Producers licensed after August 1, 2023, who will engage in the sale of annuity products in Georgia must complete the one time, 4-hour course - Annuity Best Interest 4.
are provided for your information.
Biennial CE Requirements by License Type
- Resident Licensees with less than 20 years of service – 24 hours; 3 hours must be in ethics
- Resident Licensees with more than 20 years of service – 20 hours; 3 hours must be in ethics
- Credit Insurance Only – 10 hours of self study; no ethics requirement
- Limited Subagent Only – 10 hours; no ethics requirement
- Workers Compensation Adjuster Only – 20 hours of approved CE through the Workers Compensation Board; no ethics requirement
Filing for a Reduction in CE Requirements
If you’re filing for a reduction in your CE requirements based upon teaching, legislative, journalism, projects involving insurance or illness, you can login to the Georgia Licensing portal to request.
CE Restrictions and Guidelines
- CE requirements must be completed biennially, on or before the last day of your birth month.
- Licensees cannot receive credit for the same CE course taken multiple times within the same CE reporting period.
- Credit for CE earned in one filing period that exceeds the required hours may be carried forward to the next filing period, provided that the credit carried forward does not exceed 50% of the biennial CE requirement. Ethics credit hours earned above the three hours required can be carried forward but cannot be used for the Ethics CE requirement for the next renewal period.
- Provided that you request a reduction or exemption on or before the date you’re required to file your CE credits with the Commissioner, you may receive a reduction or exemption in CE hours required to the extent of the time spent on insurance-related activities during the previous years. These activities include, but are not limited to, the following:
- Teaching courses in insurance-related topics
- Insurance-related legislative activities
- Journalism activities involving insurance related topics
- Projects involving research of insurance laws and regulations
- Individuals holding the following professional designations are required to complete 12 hours of continuing education, with 3 of those hours being in ethics: CPCU, CLU, FLMI, CIC, Certified Employee Benefit Specialist (CEBS), ChFC, Accredited Advisor in Insurance (AAI), Certified Financial Planner (CFP), or a major BBA in Risk Management and Insurance from an accredited college. If you hold these designations, please submit proof to our office.
- Agents holding a non-active license as provided in O.C.G.A 33-23-4(f) and 33-23-18(e) are exempt from Continuing Education requirements provided:
- the holder of such license files for renewal biennially, on or before the date required.
- Such exemption shall only be valid during the period the license is non-active.